Join us on:

2012 Award Ceremony

The 2012 Award Ceremony for the SI Leeds Literary Prize was awarded on Wednesday 3 October as part of the Ilkley Literature Festival.

members of the 2012 award ceremony SI Leeds Lit Prize

The SI Leeds Literary Prize 2012 shortlisted writers (L-R): Karen Onojaife, Minoli Salgado, Emily Midorikawa, Jane Steele, Katy Massey and Anita Sivakumaran (photo: Max Farrar)

An extremely enjoyable and inspiring evening, the event featured Chair of the Judges, Margaret Busby OBE, in conversation with prize Patron, critic and writer Bonnie Greer OBE.  Busby announced the four winners in alphabetical order, who each took turns to give memorable readings of extracts from their winning entries to a full house at Ilkley Playhouse.

Bonnie Greer and Margaret Busby at the 2012 Award Ceremony

Bonnie Greer OBE and Margaret Busby OBE in conversation at the award ceremony (photo: Max Farrar)

The SI Readers’ Choice award was given to Karen Onojaife Borrowed Light in the 2012 award ceremony.

Minoli Salgado winning at the 2012 award ceremony

Maureen Maguire, President of SIBGI, with winner Minoli Salgado, Margaret Busby and Bonnie Greer (photo: Max Farrar)

The four winners were announced as follows:

  • 1st place: Minoli Salgado A Little Dust on the Eyes
  • 2nd place: Karen Onojaife Borrowed Light
  • 3rd place (tied): Emily Midorikawa A Tiny Speck of Black and then NothingJane Steele Storybank: The Milkfarm Years

Minoli Salgado received the newly commissioned trophy by Yorkshire artist Seiko Kinoshita from prize Patron and President of Soroptimist International Great Britain and Ireland, Maureen Maguire.

discussion at the 2012 award ceremony

Margaret Busby, Minoli Salgado and artist Seiko Kinoshita discuss the trophy (photo: Max Farrar)

Click here for details on the 2014 award ceremony. Entries are open for the 2016 prize!